By Paul Conatzer

-Everton have drawn Rotherham United in the second round of the Carabao Cup.

-Ties start on August 27th.

-Everton were knocked out in the fourth round by Chelsea last season.

-Manchester City are the holders.

Everton are one of the 13 Premier League teams entering at the second round stage. Teams involved in European competition get byes until the third round. The draw is split into North and South.

There will be no extra time in the ties. Games that finish even after 90 minutes will go straight to a penalty shootout. VAR will be used at ties played at Premier League Grounds.

There is still a space in the Everton Trophy Case for this cup. The Blues have reached the finals twice, losing both after replays. To Aston Villa in 1977 and Liverpool in 1984. Memories of the referee missing a clear handball on the line by Alan Hansen in the final at Wembley still have Everton fans muttering obscenities. That game finished 0-0 and a Graham Souness goal in the replay at Maine Road gave the Red side of Merseyside the trophy.

A much happier memory from that cup run is Adrian Heath scoring after intercepting a Kevin Brock back pass to give Everton, a scarcely deserved reply against giant-killers Oxford United. The back-pass has gone into Everton folklore as the trigger for the successful run which saw them win four trophies in four seasons under Howard Kendall.

Everton last reached the semi-final in 2016, but failed to make a 2-1 first leg advantage hold up against Manchester City, despite a goal from Ross Barkley extend the advantage to 3-1 on aggregate. However, City ended up winning 3-1 and going through to the final, 4-3 on aggregate.

Leave a reply

Leave a Reply